Cleaning Out the Refrigerator… Veggiepalooza

I was a bit ambitious with my grocery shopping over the weekend. I thought I’d be doing a lot more cooking. And then life happens. So… tonight, I tried to use up a bunch of them. It started with chopping and slicing a bunch of veggies: carrots, cucumber, celery, green onion, white onion, etc.

Then I took two red peppers and roasted them in the oven at 400 for about 25 minutes. Yum. Delicious!

I diced some of the cucumbers finely for our dinner tonight. I took the extra, added a little diced onion, a couple tablespoons of red wine vinegar, a generous sprinkling of black pepper, and a teeny tiny dash of sugar. Yum.

For dinner, we had Chef Salad Night. The kids absolutely love it. It’s a pretty standard Wednesday night dinner (night before weigh in!). I put each topping choice in small bowls and then have a big bowl of lettuce in the middle.

The kids love choosing their own toppings. My little one is funny and prefers light vinaigrettes. Tonight he had a tiny dipping bowl of light raspberry walnut and another of light sesame ginger. Funny guy.

After dinner, I peeled my sweet potatoes:

I then sliced them, put them on baking sheets, spritzed with olive oil, and added black pepper and kosher salt. Bake at 350 for a loooonnnggggg time. It’s best to flip them over halfway through (otherwise the bottom side is sticky).

With the leftover Chef Salad ingredients, I made small salads for lunches tomorrow:

Then with the remaining ingredients, I made a veggie soup.

Sauteed onion, carrot, celery, tomato, roasted red pepper, and potato:

I let them veggies soften a bit and then added beef broth, a package of frozen spinach, a can of great northern beans, garlic powder, season salt, and pepper.

The above photo is from close to the beginning of the cooking process. After the potatoes were fully cooked, it looked UGLY. It’s supposed to be for tomorrow night’s dinner. I think it will taste okay, but it seems like it needs meat. Maybe this is because of the beef broth? Maybe it wouldn’t be as noticeable with chicken broth? I don’t know…

Leave a comment