My Choice: Veggie Spiralizer & Chef Salad Night (re-post)

Howdy! This is a re-post from back in 2011, but it’s one of my favorites….

So, I’ve told some of you about my love of my veggie spiralizer. I need to get it out more often. It is WONDERFUL. I have a cheapie one that is really only good for zucchini. Apparently, this one is much better and only slightly more expensive, but it doesn’t seem right to buy another one until the first one wears out. So, I will have to wait before I can try spiralizing radishes, carrots, etc.

Anyway, so on to the fun. Every Wednesday night, we have Chef Salad Night at our house. The kids love it because they get to choose what they eat. Everyone starts out with a bowl of salad. I put small bowls in the middle of the table with a variety of toppings. I try to keep mine on the low-fat, low-calorie side, but let my skinny kids splurge a bit more with bacon bits, diced ham, and cheese. They love Chef Salad Night and they’re actually disappointed on Wednesdays when we don’t have it!

Here’s a photo showing spiralized zucchini as part of Chef Salad Night (also orange grape tomatoes, julienned carrots, red grape tomatoes, julienned yellow peppers, diced cucumber, sauteed mushroom):

I added low-fat cottage cheese and light balsamic vinaigrette (and a little bit of rotisserie chicken) to mine:

The leftover zucchini worked well for stir fry the next night! (I added a little bit of diced onion.)

Leave a Reply

