Porteenie “Burger”

Want a delicious vegetarian sandwich? Well, here’s an option! Portabello mushrooms are used frequently as a meat substitute. I think they’re super tasty and can’t get enough… My husband and kids disagree. So, I don’t get to use them as main course entrees for dinner… but I do indulge every now and then.

Start with some porteenies. Aren’t they cute???

Stick them on a hot, nonstick skillet and sprinkle with balsamic vinegar or red wine vinegar.

Flip them over once. Cook until they’re nice and golden.

Grab some kind of 100-calorie sandwich bread. I chose the Goldfish bread, mainly because it’s cute. My kids like it and I must admit, I enjoy my food just that much more if it’s cute, beautiful, or if it amuses me.

See? Super duper cute! It even has a smile!

Then layer that baby with lettuce, thinly sliced cucumber, the porteenie, sliced tomatoes, and some red onion. Okay, so I only added the red onion because it has such a lovely purple color and I hear that some people really like the zing it provides… But I’m somewhat of a wuss and really can’t do raw onion very well. So… it came off before I ate it.

Sprinkle salt and pepper on, put the top piece on, and you have a pretty hearty vegetarian sandwich! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

