Baked Sweet and Sour Chicken

There’s something beautiful about sweet and sour chicken. Yum. I love Chinese food. My husband likes it, but pretty much sticks with sweet and sour chicken and fried rice. Not the healthiest options. So…click HERE for a baked sweet and sour chicken recipe from LaaLoosh. It’s pretty good! I was a little nervous about the amount of vinegar, given that my husband absolutely HATES vinegar… but it turned out pretty well! He said he would have preferred some pineapple chunks as well, but that’s an easy (and not awful-for-you) addition.

First you start with some egg beaters and some seasoned corn starch. I didn’t have egg beaters on hand, so I just reduced the amount of yolk I put in. Dip the mixture in the egg yolk and then roll it in the corn starch.

Next you brown the chicken in a skillet. I covered mine to try to keep some of the moisture in. I am far from being an expert at cooking meat, but the lid really seems to help.

Next you mix tasty things like soy sauce, vinegar, hoisin sauce, ketchup, salt, and pepper in a bowl to make a sauce. Then you put the chicken in a casserole dish, pour the sauce on top, and bake it.

Easy peasy, and then you end up with a beautiful dinner like this! I served mine with brown rice, steamed broccoli, and a garden salad. YUM!

Leave a Reply

