Salmon Cakes! YUM!!!

I love salmon. Love, love, love it. I could eat it every day, I think. My favorite way is grilled with just a little salt and pepper, but our grill is in a climate-controlled storage unit right now… Enjoying moderate temperatures instead of sucking it up and taking the heat like its fellow grills. And we are sadly without grilled food this summer. Ugh.

So, here’s something you can do with CANNED salmon. No grill required.

Salmon Cakes

  • 1 can of salmon, drained, with the skin and bones removed (unless you want to leave those in, you weirdo)
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 or 3 green onion stalks, sliced
  • 1/2 cup Panko bread crumbs (or any bread crumbs, crumbled crackers)
  • garlic powder, season salt, black pepper to taste
  • 4 T light mayonnaise
  • 1 T Dijon mustard

Mix all of the ingredients and form into patties. How big you make them is really up to you. Cook them on a nonstick skillet and brown on both sides. I would guess it took about 10-15 minutes total? I’m a horrible judge of cook time because I’m always paranoid that it’s not done… so… It probably *should* be closer to the 10-minute mark.

So cleaning this stuff is a rather messy and disgusting process… but worth your effort!

I made mine smaller so my kids would feel like they were getting more. But really, my older son basically ate half the batch and the rest of us made do with the rest. 🙂

Mix your mustard and your mayo. They don’t look very appealing here, but I assure you, it was yummo.

Finished product! Salmon patties with a dollop of sauce, grapes, and field greens with tomatoes and a Greek yogurt-based Ranch dressing!

4 responses to “Salmon Cakes! YUM!!!

  1. You can also use potatoes instead of crackers and they are good baked as well.

  2. I made this w/ white albacore tuna instead of salmon because I couldn’t handle removing the fish bones from the salmon (freaks me out). I also added 1/2 tsp of Worcestershire sauce. They turned out so yummy! Thanks for the recipe! 🙂

    • Oh, very cool!!! Glad to hear it worked well with tuna. I’m sure crab would be pretty delicious, too. 🙂 Yeah, the bone and skin part is pretty nasty, but well worth it!

Leave a Reply

