Zucchini Lasagna

Trying to cut back on carbs? If so, this one is definitely for you! I don’t have an exact recipe for you, as I tend to not measure. Sometimes this works in my favor, and sometimes… well, not so much. So, here are my best guesstimates! Oh, and there’s quite a bit of meat in this (feel free to leave it out!) only because if I’m substituting zucchini for noodles, I need to pick my battles at my house. There’s NO WAY I’d get away with a meatless zucchini lasagna here. It’s not necessarily low-fat and it might not be low-cal (it really depends on the meat, what type of sauce you use, how much cheese you use, etc…. it COULD be made very low cal and low fat), but getting all the veggies in from the noodles and tomatoes plus leaving out the noodles… It can’t be all that bad!

Zucchini Lasagna

  • 1 lb ground beef, cooked and crumbled
  • 3 zucchinis, sliced thin length-wise
  • 1 cup onion, minced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 cups spaghetti sauce
  • 1 cup plain Greek yogurt
  • 1 cup cheddar cheese, shredded
  • Garlic powder, season salt, black pepper, to taste

Make your onion and garlic as tiny as possible… Stick it into a pot with a tiny bit of olive oil, and cook it slowly over low heat. How long you cook it is up to you. I cook it until it’s practically caramelized.

I just happened to have a container of leftover spaghetti sauce on hand. Whenever I have extras, I put it in small containers in the freezer. It always comes in handy! On the right we have a bunch of cooked ground beef and some plain Greek yogurt. Most recipes would have you mix ricotta with the beef, but I decided to lighten it up a little.

Mix that beef and ricotta up. I seasoned it a bit with garlic powder and season salt. The dish ended up way too meaty for me, but that was probably what convinced my kids to eat it!

Three glorious zucchinis ready for slaughter!

Thank you, zucchinis, for giving your life for this lasagna. Once they’re sliced, spread them on paper towels and sprinkle lightly with salt. This will help the extra water come out. Then press them with a dry paper towel.

Stick some of the sauce in the bottom of the pan. I only used a 9×9 pan, but I’m sure you could stretch it out into a 9×12 pan.

Stack with zucchini, meat mixture, shredded cheddar, and a little more sauce.

 

Then put more zucchini on and repeat!

 

 

Bake at 350 until it looks done… I think this was about 35 minutes, and it could have gone a few more minutes. It’s really going to depend on if you want your zucchini a little crispy or if you want it really tender (both ways are good!). So… you’re just going to have to experiment a bit.

The finished product. It’s not very pretty. It would have looked a lot better had I let it cool all the way down before I cut into it… That’s how they do it for food photos. But who wants to bake something and then let it get cold before you eat it? Not me!

Leave a Reply

