Tacos, A Little Bit Healthier

Every once in a while, I really crave tacos. Like, must-have-them-this-second-or-I’ll-die crave them. Similar to pregnancy cravings, except I can’t blame it on a wee one in my belly. Alas.

So these are really simple. You can make them even healthier by using whole grain tortillas or maybe using tortillas made with something other than flour; however, I love one brand of tortillas and I just can’t stray. Yet. Maybe I’ll work up to that. I added beans and guacamole to mine to fill me up. I also added some plain Greek yogurt in place of sour cream. Salsa and fresh cilantro for flavor… Delish!

Tacos, A Little Bit Healthier

  • 1 avocado, diced
  • 10-15 grape tomatoes, sliced
  • Small, delicious soft taco shells
  • 1/2 cup plain Greek yogurt
  • 1 can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • Salsa

I had meat and shredded cheese available for my husband and kids. I’m working on them, but they’re not overly fond of meatless meals… Baby steps!

To make mine, I spread about 1/2 tablespoon of Greek yogurt on a tortilla, added a small amount of black beans, avocado, tomato, and salsa. It was sooooo good! I also had a small side of rice with cilantro and black beans. It would have been even better had I remembered to add lime juice to the rice!

 

We had a lot leftover, so I put black beans, avocado, tomato, some Greek yogurt, salsa, and cilantro in a bowl and put a cup or two of lettuce in a ziploc bag… and this made a tasty lunch the next day! Oh, I also intentionally put the salsa directly on the avocado to help the avocado stay a little greener.

Leave a Reply

