How YOU doin’? (and… a green protein smoothie recipe)

So, it’s Day 2 of the contest. How are you doing? Are you EXCITED??? Are you feeling motivated? Are you ready to become a healthier, happier you? I hope so! 🙂 We’re heading into the weekend, which is my biggest struggle. During the week, I don’t usually have a lot of trouble sticking with the plan. I have to plan my breakfasts/lunches/dinners ahead of time, so I’m forced to consider what I’m eating. On the weekends, however, it’s just chaos sometimes. But not this weekend, right? The contest is young, the will power is strong, and we’re all going to come back Monday feeling pretty good about ourselves.

To help get you started, here’s a protein smoothie recipe from Skinny Ms. You should click on it for the full recipe and their higher quality photos…. but here are some from my own attempt.

Start with some spinach, green tea, an apple, avocado, frozen banana… Skinny Ms. used kale but I just doubled my spinach because I didn’t feel like buying spinach AND kale and also because my blender doesn’t take kindly to kale…

Stick it in the blender.

The creamy green mixture… This recipe makes two smoothies.

And for extra kicks, I added a tablespoon of chia seeds to each. (After taking the photo I mixed it in)

The result? Creamy and subtly sweet. If you’re nervous about the avocado, it’s a really mild taste. I think it adds more creaminess than avocado-i-ness. And spinach seems to scare people for some reason. I promise you can’t taste it. Even in an all fruity smoothie, adding a cup per smoothie (so this recipe would be two cups) doesn’t affect the taste. Now, if you add 8-10 cups, as I’ve done before, you CAN taste the spinach. However, I’m weird and I kind of like that leafy taste.

This is my first avocado smoothie, but I’m definitely going to try more. I’ve seen plenty of recipes using avocado/cucumber combinations. I’m sure it would be a refreshing start to a hot summer day!

 

P.S. I made this AGAIN and added an extra avocado, divided it into FIVE containers (only about half full each), added 1 T of chia seed to each, mixed it up, and then put back in the fridge until I was ready to eat it. When I was ready, I added 4-6 ounces of cold green tea to thin it out a bit… DELICIOUS! Plus, this way, I made breakfast for FIVE days in just a few minutes.

Leave a Reply

