Smoothie Day 1: Berry-Banana-Spinach

So, I am officially in love with smoothies. They are so easy and so delicious! What a wonderful way to load up on fruits and veggies. The best part? My SUPER PICKY 3-year-old loves them! He even saw me cram handfuls of spinach into it and he STILL ate it. In fact, he became very protective of his smoothie and was worried I might not remember to refrigerate it… He insisted that I stop washing dishes and cover his cup and put it in the refrigerator right away.

This week’s going to be smoothie-riffic. The changes each day are just small tweaks. Maybe drastic variations will happen another time. For now, I have a basic formula that works for me, and I’m going to stick with it!

Berry-Banana-Spinach Smoothie

  • 1 banana
  • 1 cup strawberries
  • 1/2 cup blueberries
  • Milk
  • 1/2 cup Greek yogurt
  • SPINACH

The measurements aren’t really exact. Basically, load up with your fruits, yogurt, and some milk. Add more milk as needed to get it to a liquid consistency. Then stuff as much spinach as you like into the blender. You’ll have to use a spatula to help it down to the bottom. If you just add a cup of spinach, you won’t be able to taste it. If you’re like me and you love spinach, add a couple more cups! Add as much will as will fit into the blender! Click HERE for 11 health benefits of spinach!

It may not be the prettiest thing in the world, but it’s a healthy, delicious breakfast. It keeps me full until lunch, and I feel great when it’s part of my daily routine!

P.S. This makes more than one smoothie, and they keep very well in the refrigerator!

5 responses to “Smoothie Day 1: Berry-Banana-Spinach

  1. Do you have a substitute for the yogurt? Something for those for us that don’t do dairy so well? Thanks!

    • I haven’t tried it before, but Turtle Mountain is supposed to have a good, dairy-free Greek yogurt. It’s made from coconut milk. So Delicious also came up in searches for coconut yogurt. I’m not sure how easy it is to find it, but I know Meijer tends to carry a lot of the less mainstream items. There’s always Whole Foods and Trader Joe’s, too. Another choice might be coconut water, which I know you can buy at Meijer (in the refrigerated section near the produce — the one with soy and alfalfa sprouts), but they’re usually out. I also recently found coconut water at CVS… I’ll be posting about this soon!

  2. Heather Brandt

    You can get the cocomut greek yogurt at Whole Foods in Clay Terrace. It’s the only place I have seen it. They also carry an Almond milk yogurt too. Or you can leave the yogurt out entirely and just use coconut milk or almond….and use frozen fruit instead to get a thicker shake.

    • Thanks for the info, Heather! You’re the best! (To anyone else I’ve called the best, you are, too! You all are! This is a time when you can say it to more than one person because it’s on my blog so I make the rules… We can have multiple “bests.”)

  3. Thanks for the info. I miss eating yogurt, so I will have to try one of the other options mentioned!

Leave a Reply

