Whole Wheat Oatmeal Pancakes

I love breakfast for dinner. It’s easy, fast, and cheap! I added reduced-calorie breakfast sausage links for the kids. I might be a tad paranoid about raw meat, so I always buy the fully cooked ones in the freezer section. Pop them in the oven for 20 minutes or so and they puff up nicely, brown a bit, and I don’t have to cut each one open to look for tiny spots of pink meat.

Anyway, I started with my dry ingredients: whole wheat flour, oats, sugar, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon.

Mix in an egg, milk, vanilla, and a tiny bit of oil.

The batter doesn’t look very pretty, but the results are tasty, I assure you. 🙂

Put them on a heated griddle. One batch should make about 10 pancakes, although I made train pancakes for my boys, which made the actual count a little off.

Let them cook until browned on both sides. I decorated mine with fresh fruit and honey (not figured into the calorie count).

I spread about half container of 2% Greek yogurt on my pancake, added fresh fruit, and then drizzled with honey. Yum!!!

Whole Wheat Oatmeal Pancakes

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1 T sugar
  • 2 t baking powder
  • 2 t cinnamon
  • 1/4 t salt
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 T canola oil
  • 1 t vanilla extract
  1. Mix your dry ingredients together. 
  2. Add the wet ingredients. Let it sit a few minutes before adding to a hot griddle.
  3. Cook until bubbles form on the top.
  4. Flip the pancakes over and cook until golden brown.

Nutrition Info (estimate) per pancake

  • 108 calories
  • 3 g fat
  • 2.2 g fiber
  • 4.3 g protein
2 responses to “Whole Wheat Oatmeal Pancakes

  1. This looks delicious, but I wanted to comment because I never thought to use cookie cutters to make pancakes, and it is a great idea! I tried it last night. I put too much batter in the first, and I think next time I will spray the cookie cutters with non-stick spray, but my nine year old was so excited that I made a heart and star pancake! Thanks so much for the idea!

Leave a Reply

