Breakfast: Ham and Swiss Bake!

I needed something quick, easy, and low-cal to bring for my team breakfast today. So, I grabbed some ultra-thin sliced deli ham and a small carton of egg whites. I knew I had swiss cheese at home and figured it was a good enough start to something.

I started with a 9×12 casserole dish and sprayed it lightly with nonstick spray. I layered the ham in the bottom of the dish.

Next, I sprinkled 1 cup of shredded Swiss cheese over the ham.

I poured the carton of egg white on, but it looked like it was missing something. I sprinkled on season salt and freshly ground black pepper (I bought salt and pepper grinders yesterday, and they are SO COOL!). It still looked like it was missing something, so I added about a teaspoon of dried basil and some leftover roasted yellow and orange peppers (from our weekly Chef Salad Night).

 

I put it in the oven at 350 and let it bake for about 35 minutes.

And I know this isn’t the humble way to go about it, but it was DELICIOUS! In my opinion, at least. Here’s the best part: 1 piece = 107 calories, and it’s a generous piece. WOO HOO!!! I love kitchen experiments that turn out well!

Ham and Cheese Breakfast Bake

  • 9 oz Hillshire Farms Ultrathin Smoked Deli Ham
  • 1 cup shredded Swiss cheese
  • 1 small carton of egg whites (the store-bought egg whites don’t turn that strange color of gray that happens when you separate your own egg whites)
  • 1/2 cup roasted yellow/orange bell peppers
  • 1 tsp dried basil
  • Season salt and black pepper
  1. Preheat the oven to 350.
  2. Lightly spray a 9×13 pan with nonstick spray.
  3. Evenly spread deli ham in pan.
  4. Sprinkle Swiss cheese on ham.
  5. Pour egg whites over cheese and ham.
  6. Sprinkle roasted peppers and basil over mixture.
  7. Season with season salt and black pepper to taste (by “to taste” I mean to your preference, not by actually tasting it because raw egg is nasty!).
  8. Bake at 350 for about 35 minutes.

I’m totally bragging here, but it was DELICIOUS!!! I will definitely be making it again soon. I knew it was on the lighter side overall, but didn’t know how much until after I’d eaten and enjoyed every bite.

Makes 8 servings

Calories per serving: 107

Fat grams per serving: 4.6

Protein grams per serving: 12.5

2 responses to “Breakfast: Ham and Swiss Bake!

  1. I am trying this for breakfast in the morning! Thank you Kate for you experiments! You are so awesome…

Leave a Reply

