Banana Flaxseed Chocolate Chip Bread

So, to get this out right away, I’m not going to be posting results until tonight! Dinner out with my aunt and uncle, who are passing through from Minnesota on their way to Florida… but I will do it when we get home! Stay tuned!

I tried making banana flaxseed chocolate chip bread to cancel out the tangy vinegar smell of the broccoli stir fry the other night…

I started with 3 super ripe bananas:

I added 1 cup of cinnamon applesauce, 1/2 cup of sugar, an egg, and a tsp of vanilla extract.

To that, I added 1 tsp of baking soda and 1 tsp of salt. Here’s where I messed up: I added 1 cup of ground flaxseed, thinking, “Yeah! Flaxseed is GOOD for you! The more the better, right?” Um, no. I added 1/2 cup of flour. If I could do it again (and I might), I would do 1 cup of whole wheat flour and 1/2 cup of ground flaxseed.

I mixed it up and added 1 cup of mini chocolate chips. I used to skip the mini and just buy the regular ones, but 1 cup of mini chocolate chips spreads out so evenly and seems like a lot more than 1 cup of regular chocolate chips.

I then poured it into an 8×8 baking dish and baked it at 350 for about 50 minutes.

It was a bit grainy. I think the flaxseed to everything else ratio was a bit screwed up. So, if you’re in the mood to try this, do 1 cup of flour and only 1/2 a cup of flaxseed…

Leave a Reply

