Low-Fat Banana Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Muffins

I originally started with the recipe found HERE on food.com. I searched for low-calorie recipes with banana and chocolate. This one popped up. After printing it and getting partway through assembling the ingredients, I realized that it wasn’t really what I was looking for. First of all, I don’t know that I’d call 158 calories low calorie. Also, I wanted more chocolate. I mean, 1/2 cup of chocolate chips spread out over 12 muffins? Really? I’d already added the sugar, and it seems like quite a bit. As I’m trying this, the muffins are baking in the oven, and I’m having all sorts of ideas — I could have used honey instead of the sugar! I could have reduced the sugar and added some ground flaxseed (protein, yeah, baby!). Sigh. I could have modified it quite a bit to make it healthier.

I had planned to use whole wheat flour for at least half of the flour, but that’s in my garage freezer and the house alarm system is already on… so……… white flour it is.

Here’s my version of the muffins, although I realize this could be modified quite a bit to be healthier!

Low-Fat Banana Oatmeal Chocolate Chocolate Chip Muffins

Makes 12 muffins

3 large bananas, mashed

1/2 cup white sugar

1 egg, beaten

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp baking powder

1 cup flour

1/2 cup rolled oats

1/4 cup cocoa powder

1 tsp ground cinnamon

1/2 tsp salt

1/3 cup applesauce

1/2 cup chocolate chips

  1. Add sugar to mashed bananas and mix.
  2. Add beaten egg and mix.
  3. Stir in vanilla extract.
  4. In a separate bowl mix all dry ingredients (except for chocolate chips).
  5. Mix in applesauce and then chocolate chips.
  6. Spoon into muffin tins, about 3/4 of the way full.
  7. Bake for 15-20 minutes at 350.

163 calories, 2.9 g fat per muffin

So, I PROMISE these taste good. The photos don’t do them justice (my fault).

 

One response to “Low-Fat Banana Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Muffins

  1. Pingback: Easy Breakfast for the Kids! « Big Time Losers

Leave a Reply

