Caramelized Onion, Red Pepper, and Zucchini Frittata/Casserole

Gina at Skinny Taste creates beautiful, delicious recipes. Here’s her photo of this recipe.

Gorgeous. Maybe some day I’ll buy a better camera and learn how to take photos, but for now, these will have to do!

Caramelized Onion, Red Pepper, and Zucchini Frittata from Gina’s Weight Watchers Recipes

Servings: 4 servings • Time: 20 minutes • Points: 3 ww points

  • 1/2 small white onion, thinly sliced rings
  • 1 small red pepper, diced
  • 1 cup zucchini, diced into matchsticks
  • 3 eggs
  • 5 large egg whites
  • 1 tbsp fat free half and half
  • 1/4 cup parmesan cheese, grated
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • salt and fresh pepper

Preheat oven to 350°.
Over medium heat, heat oil in a large skillet. Stir in onion and cook until slightly brown, about 10 minutes. Add peppers and cook 5 more minutes, then add zucchini. Seasonwith salt and pepper and cook 3 more minutes stirring occasionally.

In a medium bowl whisk eggs, egg whites, parmesan, half and half, salt, and pepper.
Add eggs to the skillet making sure eggs cover all the vegetables. When the edges begin to set (about 2 minutes) move skillet to oven. Cook about 15 minutes, or until frittata is completely cooked. Serve warm, cut into 4 equal wedges.

***********************************

I was cooking for a whole team, so I made a double batch. I’m also not sure which of my skillets can go into the oven. So, my version is slightly different.

First I chopped some onion and let it saute in a covered skillet for about half an hour. I really like the onions browned and caramelized. Then I chopped some red pepper and cut my zucchini into small enough chunks to go into the Cuisinart.

I dumped the zucchini in the Cuisinart and shredded it:

I LOVE my Cuisinart.

Then I sauteed all of the veggies:

I spread them in a 9×13 casserole dish, mixed the eggs and egg whites, seasoned with season salt, garlic powder, and black powder, and then baked for about 30 minutes at 350.

I completely forgot the parmesan cheese.

Here’s the finished product, just oozing with veggies.

When I reheat it for my team, I think I’m going to sprinkle on a bit of mozzarella cheese to make up for the missing parmesan cheese.

This dish? Guilt-free!

Leave a Reply

