Welcome! (and a quinoa recipe!)

Our newest round is underway! Hooray! Thank you to everyone participating! There is a lot of enthusiasm this time around, so many new faces, and I truly think it’s going to be the best round ever.

For the first post of this round, I’m going to show you what we had for dinner tonight (although I’m posting this for Monday, so it’s what we had for dinner Sunday night).

Everyone loves chicken fried rice, right? So savory but loaded with oil and carbs. Carbs aren’t all bad, but eating cups of white rice probably isn’t the best way to kick off your weight loss program.

What to do? I replaced the rice with quinoa. In case you aren’t familiar with it, quinoa contains more high quality protein than any other grain. It is a complete protein grain and provides all the essential amino acids in a balanced pattern, close to the ideal set by the United Nations Food and Agriculture Organization. It’s wheat-free/gluten-free. It’s pretty perfect.

There’s no official recipe, but here’s what I did:

I started by taking a 12 oz box of plain quinoa and boiled it with 2 cubes of chicken bouillon. I let it cool off a bit and then put it in the refrigerator to cool off.

Then I chopped some carrots, yellow onion, and green onion.

First into the pan: yellow onions. I sauteed them in a tiny dab of canola oil until they were translucent. Then I added the carrots and let them soften a bit. Then came the green onions. I cooked them together for a few minutes until they looked like this:

In a separate skillet, I took three eggs and whisked them together with about a tablespoon of water. I cooked them in a non-stick skillet and only added salt and pepper.

I took some chopped broccoli florets and sprinkled with a little bit of teriyaki sauce. I let it get a little brown before taking it out of the skillet.

I took some cooked chicken (cooked the previous day in a crockpot with chicken broth, onion, and garlic) in teriyaki sauce.

Once everything was warmed up, I mixed the quinoa with about 2 tablespoons of canola oil. I then added salt and pepper and stuck it on the griddle. Once the quinoa started looked nice and toasty brown, I added the other ingredients in. It was a messy mix… my kitchen floor is covered with random grains and veggies now.

As it cooked, I added more pepper and soy sauce.

Here’s the finished product:

Verdict: It tastes better than it looks! Well, it looked a little better than this, but I have a really old camera and I’m not much of a photographer. 🙂 As I was cooking it, my husband came into the kitchen with a wrinkled nose and said, “It smells healthy. Really healthy.” He said it wasn’t his favorite, but he DID eat three bowls of it. My 7-year-old ate it enthusiastically and kept saying it was delicious. My 3-year-old wouldn’t touch it at first, but ate a few bites when I fed it to him and told him it was “puppy food” for my puppy (he’s going through a phase right now…). You could easily leave out the chicken (and egg if you don’t eat them) and make it a vegetarian meal thanks to the protein provided by the quinoa.

One response to “Welcome! (and a quinoa recipe!)

  1. Pingback: Healthier Fried “Rice” | Big Time Losers

Leave a Reply

